D&Y Logo

What Is the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact?

Several states have recently enacted legislation that streamlines physician licensure across state lines, expediting the ability to practice in multiple states.

With the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, eligible physicians can now take advantage of a seamless, hassle-free process for attaining the licensing required to practice across state lines. Previously, physicians were required to apply for licensure in each state individually and then wait up to nine months to receive a new state medical license. With the Compact, it is now easier to access opportunities in new regions and underrepresented medical areas.

What is the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact?

The Compact is a new agreement between 22 states that expedites the process of securing physician licensure in multiple states. The compact not only cuts down on the time required to obtain a license, it also streamlines the process by replacing cumbersome paperwork with a single online application.

How does the Compact work?

In order to secure multiple state licenses, physicians must first meet mandated eligibility requirements including full unrestricted licensure in one of the compact states and a state license that can be declared an SPL (State of Principal License). Visit the IMLCC website for the SPL eligibility requirements. Additional eligibility requirements include:

  • Graduate of an accredited medical school
  • Completion of an accredited training program
  • ABMS or AOA board certification
  • NO disciplinary actions on medical or controlled substance license(s)
  • NO criminal history
  • NO pending investigations of any kind

Once a physician has determined his/her eligibility, an application can be submitted online at IMLCC.org. The online application requires a declaration of SPL, as well as a list of the states where licensure is requested. Upon receipt of the application with required fees, the Compact contacts the SPL for verification that eligibility requirements have been met. The SPL then issues a letter of qualification to the Compact. The Compact distributes the letter of qualification (LQ) to requested states of licensure and a full, unrestricted license is issued. The LQ is valid for 365 days.

Who is eligible for the Compact?

It is important to note that although there are 20 states that are currently members of the Compact, there are only seven states that currently have processes in place to be declared as an SPL. These states are Alabama, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Other member states are currently in the process of passing legislation to be declared SPLs.

Find out if you qualify and are in a participating state.

The Compact is a game-changer for both physicians and medical facilities. By streamlining the licensing process, the Compact can vastly broaden employment possibilities for locum physicians across multiple states. Hospitals and medical practices now have access to a broader pool of physicians to meet the needs of their patients which is a huge benefit, especially in rural or underserved areas. Want to learn more about the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact? D&Y’s experienced team of licensing professionals can assist you through every step of the process.

Contact us for more information.

Contact Us

We'd love to hear from you! Please fill out the form and someone from our team will get back to you soon.